Taking it back

20131009-140502.jpg

Halloween is approaching.
If things had gone the way we planned, Graeme would be here in a few weeks. Halloween would come and we would celebrate his birth.

Instead, he’s gone and Halloween is coming wether we are ready or not.

Today I decided that I was finally ready to decorate. I decided to take Halloween back.
Even though I know that it will be inevitably sad, and incredibly hard, I want to celebrate Graeme’s life just like I would have if he had made it through all of this.
Halloween had always been my favorite holiday, and Graeme would’ve been my Halloween baby.
Today I’m taking that back.
I’m using Halloween to celebrate Graeme’s life.

Honestly it’s fitting,
The Mexican holiday Day of the Dead** is directly fallowing Halloween, it’s something I find fascinating and beautiful. A celebration to honor and remember all of the loved ones they have lost. It is not dark or devastating. It’s prayer and love and devotion
It’s beautiful.
So this is my mission this Halloween and every Halloween for the rest of my life. To remember and celebrate our sweet, amazing, little Halloween boy.

Today I took it back ❤

*** Day of the Dead (Spanish: Día de Muertos) is a Mexican holiday celebrated throughout Mexico and around the world in other cultures. The holiday focuses on gatherings of family and friends to pray for and remember friends and family members who have died. Traditions connected with the holiday include building private altars honoring the deceased using sugar skulls, marigolds, and the favorite foods and beverages of the departed and visiting graves with these as gifts. They also leave possessions of the deceased.

Leave a Reply

